Cove Park has hosted well over 3,000 artists since its launch in 2000, taking part in Craft & Design, Film & Moving Image, Literature & Translation, Performing Arts and Visual Arts residencies. The success of this programme is due to our relationship with so many wonderful artists and we aim to keep in touch with as many of our former residents as possible. 

Many of our alumni have now returned to Cove Park for further funded or independently-funded residencies, to take part in events or lead workshops as part of engagement programme. Artists returning recently to Cove Park include: Emilia Beatriz, Katrina Brown, Florence Dwyer, Ashanti Harris, Emmie McLuskey, Janice Parker, Luke Pell, Frances Poet, Charlotte Prodger, David Sherry and Dawn Youll.

The principle of creating new opportunities for our alumni and keeping in touch with everyone is very important to us. With this in mind, we have launched a new Cove Park Associates membership programme, for all our former residents. A first meeting for this programme will be held on Tuesday 8 June 2021 at 5.00pm. If you would like to hear more, and share your ideas for this programme with us, please contact Alexia Holt for the Zoom link and password.

Watch this space for more information and please get in touch with Alexia if you can’t make the meeting but would like to join this programme.


Cove Park’s Partnerships Manager Catrin Kemp, and the Programme Producers, can advise on fundraising for the costs of Independently-Funded residencies and we are happy to recommend a range of trusts and foundations to apply to (an introductory list is given below). When appropriate, we can also act as referees and support the application process itself. If this is of interest to you, please contact Catrin directly.

Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again at Cove Park.

Funders to consider:
Creative Scotland
Arts Council England
Arts Council of Wales
Arts Council of Northern Ireland
John Mather Trust (West of Scotland only)
The Hope Scott Trust (Musicians and visual artists in Scotland only)
Balavoulin Art Grants (for artists living in or connected to the Highlands & Islands of Scotland)
Gaelic Books Council (for writers developing new and original writing in Scottish Gaelic, translation from another language into Scottish Gaelic or developmnet of a Scottish Gaelic graphic novel)
Inches Carr Trust (craft bursaries for makers/designers based in Scotland, will support residencies)
The Francis W Reckitt Arts Trust (for UK based artists working in a wide range of art forms)
Oppenheim-John Downes Memorial Trust (for UK based artists, designers, writers and performers over the age of 30, will support travel costs).
The Society of Authors (for UK based writers, supporting ‘works in progress’; please note, grants for residential stays are currently on hold due to pandemic – the fund is unlikely to reopen before end of March 2021)
PRS Foundation / Open Fund for Music Creators/Women Make Music Grants (for UK based composers and songwriters, will support residencies)
Help Musicians UK
Pollock-Krasner Foundation (for international emerging and established visual artists, will support the costs of attending a residency)
Paul Mellon Centre (supports scholarships and academic research in the fields of British art and architectural history, open to UK and international applicants).

Images: Above, Abraham Cruzvillegas; below (left to right), Raisa Kabir, Skye Reynolds, Raydale Dower.